Left and Right

To the Left

Why should I now bow down to you,
Who’ve done me neither good nor ill,
But seek to fix your fetters on
My life, my work, my will;

You, who’d rob me blind until
All others have had their fill,
Who’d watch a nation wither
While you grow fatter still.

You preach that I’m made less a man
By reason that I am more;
That those who never have strived before
Are now due an even score;

That the masses’ insipid incompetence
(fostered by more than chance)
Is the nation’s newly adopted norm,
While I am viewed askance.

I’ve never been your enemy;
Still yet, I’ve come to see,
Although you gorge on all I’ve sown,
That’s just how you see me.

To the Right

Why should I now bow down to you,
Who’ve done me neither good nor ill,
But seek to fix your fetters on
My life, my work, my will;

You, who teach and preach of faith
To a mindless mob that sleeps
‘Neath a blanket of hollow moral code
That you, yourself, don’t keep.

You’d see your dogma rendered law
No matter my own beliefs,
And dictate taming sameness
That, to joy, must seem a thief.

You feed on fear and hatred
(fostered by more than chance),
Your loud-mouths shouting “Freedom!”
Which you’ve ravaged in advance.

I’ve never been your enemy;
Still yet, I’ve come to see,
Though you profess you’ll govern less,
The reins are all you seek.

Poet: AzraelWrites

#poetry #poems #wisdom #politics #left #right #division

Politicsl_Divide

Leave a Reply

